Race Results 2005


Round 15 - ITALY, Monza - Race Results

Conditions: dry; Air 28°C, Track 43°C

Position  Driver  Car (Tyres)  Time/Retirement Laps Pitstops
1  Juan Pablo MONTOYA  McLaren Mercedes (M)  1h 14m 28.659s 53 2
2  Fernando ALONSO  Renault (M)  + 0m 02.479s 53 2
3  Giancarlo FISICHELLA  Renault (M)  + 0m 17.975s 53 2
4  Kimi RAIKKONEN  McLaren Mercedes (M)  + 0m 22.775s 53 2
5  Jarno TRULLI  Toyota (M)  + 0m 33.786s 53 2
6  Ralf SCHUMACHER  Toyota (M)  + 0m 43.925s 53 2
7  Antonio PIZZONIA  Williams BMW (M)  + 0m 44.643s 53 2
8  Jenson BUTTON  BAR Honda (M)  + 1m 03.635s 53 2
9  Felipe MASSA  Sauber Petronas (M)  + 1m 15.413s 53 2
10  Michael SCHUMACHER  Ferrari (B)  + 1m 26.070s 53 2
11  Jacques VILLENEUVE  Sauber Petronas (M)  + 1 lap 52 2
12  Rubens BARRICHELLO  Ferrari (B)  + 1 lap 52 3
13  Christian KLIEN  Red Bull Cosworth (M)  + 1 lap 52 2
14  Mark WEBBER  Red Bull Cosworth (M)  + 1 lap 52 3
15  David COULTHARD  Red Bull Cosworth (M)  + 1 lap 52 2
16  Takuma SATO  BAR Honda (M)  + 1 lap 52 3
17  Tiago MONTEIRO  Jordan Toyota (B)  + 2 laps 51 2
18  Robert DOORNBOS  Minardi Cosworth (B)  + 2 laps 51 2
19  Christijan ALBERS  Minardi Cosworth (B)  + 2 laps 51 4
20  Narain KARTHIKEYAN  Jordan Toyota (B)  + 3 laps 50 4

Antonio Pizzonia standing in for Nick Heidfeld, who is suffering severe headaches following a testing accident at Monza during the week.

A number of minor tangles on the first lap result in early pitstops for Coulthard, Webber and Albers. Raikkonen, starting 11th after a 10 slot penalty for an engine change, slipped behind Villeneuve at the start which cost him valuable time in the early stages of the race.

Sato has a fuel-rig problem on his first stop and has to come in again. Raikkonen is the last to pit, highlighting the brilliance of his pole position lap in qualifying with a heavy fuel load. He eventually pits on lap 26, taking on a lot of fuel, probably indicating a change to a one-stop strategy.

Not long after his stop, Raikkonen's left rear tyre delaminates (although Michelin claim it was a puncture) - he made it back to the pits for a replacement but exits behind Villeneuve again - talk about deja vu!

Albers is given a drive-thru penalty for ignoring blue flags. Button, fast in the first stint, drops back through the field in the middle stint and loses out further in the second round of stops, dropping out of the points.

Barrichello has to stop for a precautionary left rear tyre change, apparently due to a slow puncture. This puts Button, under heavy pressure from Michael Schumacher, back into the points. Webber and Sato pit together and race side by side down the pitlane on exit, with Webber taking the place into the first corner.

Raikkonen, having switched on a one-stop strategy, manages to get ahead of Trulli when he pits, only to spin at the second chicane a couple of laps later, putting him back down to 5th. He retakes Trulli within a couple of laps and sets off up the road after Fisichella in 3rd.

Montoya, having lead from the start, is now struggling for grip and appears to have the same left rear tyre delamination problem as Raikkonen suffered earlier in the race. With only a few laps to go, the team leave him out, desperate to mitigate Raikkonen's points loss to Alonso, although the latter looks almost certain to take the driver's championship - McLaren's poor reliability has let Raikkonen down badly.

With Montoya losing 1s a lap to Alonso and Raikkonen closing on Fisichella at 1.5s a lap, another couple of laps could have seen some real excitement! But the race ended before the gaps could be closed - Montoya steering his gripless car to a second victory at Monza, and his second victory for McLaren.

The Renaults of Alonso and Fisichella took the other two podium places, with Raikkonen finishing a remarkable 4th from 11th on the grid with an unscheduled tyre stop. Pizzonia also put in a good performance, having received a late call-up on Saturday morning to stand-in for Heidfeld, finishing 7th from 16th on the grid.

Most outstanding of all - there were NO retirements at this fast-paced circuit, the first time in its history that all cars have made it to the finish.

Back to Top

Copyright © 2011 - Carolyn Abberley
All Rights Reserved
Webmaster: webmaster@f1roro.co.uk