F1 Circuits - Imola, San Marino

GERMANY - Hockenheim
JAPAN - Suzuka


Track Facts

Current circuit length : 4.933 km (2000-2006)

Lap record : 1m 20.411s; 220.850 km/h (Michael Schumacher 2004)

Fastest qualifying lap : 1m 19.753s; 222.673 km/h (Jenson Button 2004)

Grand Prix held : 26

Web Site : www.autodromoimola.com
Location : Autodromo Enzo e Dino Ferrari
Via Fratelli Rosselli 2
40026 Imola
Tel: (+39) 0542 31444
Fax: (+39) 0542 30420

Imola is a track that will forever be associated with tragedy after the legendary Ayrton Senna and Austrian driver Roland Ratzenburger both lost their lives here in 1994. Following those accidents the track underwent a radical redevelopment to make it safer, essentially slowing down the cars. Many purists say the track lost much of its appeal as the awesome sweeping left hander, the Tamburello, where Senna lost his life and Berger had a frightening crash in 1989, was broken by a left-right chicane and there were similar modifications to other parts of the circuit.

Past Winners

Year Winner Team  
2006 Michael SCHUMACHER Ferrari Click for full results
2005 Fernando ALONSO Renault Click for full results
2004 Michael SCHUMACHER Ferrari Click for full results
2003 Michael SCHUMACHER Ferrari Click for full results
2002 Michael SCHUMACHER Ferrari Click for full results
2001 Ralf SCHUMACHER Williams Click for full results
2000 Michael SCHUMACHER Ferrari
1999 Michael SCHUMACHER Ferrari
1998 David COULTHARD McLaren
1997 Heinz-Harald FRENTZEN Williams
1996 Damon HILL Williams
1995 Damon HILL Williams
1994 Michael SCHUMACHER Benetton
1993 Alain PROST Williams
1992 Nigel MANSELL Williams
1991 Ayrton SENNA McLaren
1990 Riccardo PATRESE Williams
1989 Ayrton SENNA McLaren
1988 Ayrton SENNA McLaren
1987 Nigel MANSELL Williams
1986 Alain PROST McLaren
1985 Elio DE ANGELIS Lotus
1984 Alain PROST McLaren
1983 Patrick TAMBAY Ferrari
1982 Didier PERONI Ferrari
1981 Nelson PIQUET Brabham

Back to Top

Copyright © 2011 - Carolyn Abberley
All Rights Reserved
Webmaster: webmaster@f1roro.co.uk