F1 Circuits - Indianapolis, USA

AUSTRALIA - Melbourne
BAHRAIN - Sakhir
BRAZIL - Interlagos
CANADA - Montreal
CHINA - Shanghai
EUROPE - Nurburgring
FRANCE - Magny-Cours
GB - Silverstone
HUNGARY - Hungaroring
ITALY - Monza
JAPAN - Fuji
MONACO - Monte Carlo
SPAIN - Barcelona
TURKEY - Istanbul
USA - Indianapolis


Track Facts

Current circuit length : 4.192 km (2000-2007)

Lap record : 1m 10.399; 214.366 km/h (Rubens Barrichello 2004)

Fastest qualifying lap : 1m 09.454; 217.283 km/h (Rubens Barrichello 2004 Qual 1)

Grand Prix held : 19

Web Site : www.usgpindy.com
Location : Indianapolis Motor Speedway
4790 W 16 Street
IN 46224 USA
Tel: (+1) 317 481-8500
Fax: (+1) 317 484-6749

There is little doubt that the Indianapolis Motor Speedway is one of the most famous names in world motor racing. Built on farmland five miles northwest of Indiana's capital city in the spring of 1909, it was planned as a year-round testing facility for the fast-growing automobile industry in Indiana. Four turns, each banked at nine degrees and 12 minutes and measuring exactly 440 yards from entrance to exit, were linked together by a pair of long straights and, at the north and south ends of the property, by a pair of short straights to form a rectangular-shaped 2.5 mile track as dictated by the confines of the available land. Later in 1909, 3,200,000 paving bricks were imported by rail from the western part of the state in the autumn, laid on their sides in a bed of sand and fixed with mortar, thus inspiring the nickname "The Brickyard." On May 30 - Memorial Day - a gruelling 500-Mile race paying $14,250 to win took place, enjoying instant success and attracting universal recognition...and making history as the inaugural Indianapolis 500. Asphalt was first applied to the rougher portions of the track in 1936, and the remainder of the bricks were finally covered over in 1961. Most of the original paving bricks are still in place underneath the modern asphalt surface, with only the famous "yard of bricks" still exposed at the start/finish line as a nostalgic reminder of the past. Formula 1 returned to Indy in 2000 with a new Formula 1 circuit utilising the start-finish straight then twistsing through the in-field before rejoining the oval on the final banked curve back into the main straight.

Past Winners

Year Winner Team  
2007 Lewis HAMILTON McLaren Mercedes Click for full results
2006 Michael SCHUMACHER Ferrari Click for full results
2005 Michael SCHUMACHER Ferrari Click for full results
2004 Rubens BARRICHELLO Ferrari Click for full results
2003 Michael SCHUMACHER Ferrari Click for full results
2002 Michael SCHUMACHER Ferrari Click for full results
2001 Michael SCHUMACHER Ferrari Click for full results
2000 Michael SCHUMACHER Ferrari
1960 Jim RATHMANN Watson
1959 Rodger WARD Watson
1958 Jimmy BRYAN Epperly
1957 Sam HANKS Epperly
1956 Pat FLAHERTY Watson
1955 Bob SWEIKERT Kurtis Kraft
1954 Bill VUKOVICH Kurtis Kraft
1953 Bill VUKOVICH Kurtis Kraft
1952 Troy RUTTMAN Kuzma
1951 Lee WALLARD Kurtis Kraft
1950 Johnnie PARSONS Kurtis Kraft

Back to Top

Copyright © 2011 - Carolyn Abberley
All Rights Reserved
Webmaster: webmaster@f1roro.co.uk