F1 Circuits - Silverstone, GB

AUSTRALIA - Melbourne
BAHRAIN - Sakhir
BRAZIL - Interlagos
CANADA - Montreal
CHINA - Shanghai
EUROPE - Nurburgring
FRANCE - Magny-Cours
GB - Silverstone
HUNGARY - Hungaroring
ITALY - Monza
JAPAN - Fuji
MONACO - Monte Carlo
SPAIN - Barcelona
TURKEY - Istanbul
USA - Indianapolis


Track Facts

Current circuit length : 5.141 km (2000-2007)

Lap record : 1m 18.739s; 235.049 km/h (Michael Schumacher 2004)

Fastest qualifying lap : 1m 18.233s; 236.570 km/h (Kimi Raikkonen 2004)

Grand Prix held : 41

Web Site : www.silverstonemotorsport.co.uk
Location : Silverstone Circuit
Near Towcester
Northampton NN12 8TN
Tel: (+44) 1327 857271
Fax: (+44) 1327 857663

Silverstone's owners, the British Racing Drivers' Club, promote the circuit as the home of British motor racing. However there are many who believe that the flat characterless layout of the track, situated on the site of a former airfield, leads to 'soul-less' racing. The Northamptonshire track hosted the first ever official World Championship Formula One Grand Prix, back in 1950. A recent deal with the owners of Brands Hatch means that Silverstone will continue to host the British GP for the next 16 years. In recent years, many of the corners at Silverstone have been reprofiled - and many might argue emasculated. Indeed the super-fast layout that saw Keke Rosberg qualify for the 1985 GP at over 160 mph seems a lifetime ago. Despite being one of the fastest circuits on the current F1 calendar, the varied nature of the track with the tight final section will mean medium set-ups for most of the cars.

Past Winners

Year Winner Team  
2007 Kimi RAIKKONEN Ferrari Click for full results
2006 Fernando ALONSO Renault Click for full results
2005 Juan Pablo MONTOYA McLaren Click for full results
2004 Michael SCHUMACHER Ferrari Click for full results
2003 Rubens BARRICHELLO Ferrari Click for full results
2002 Michael SCHUMACHER Ferrari Click for full results
2001 Mika HAKKINEN McLaren Click for full results
2000 David COULTHARD McLaren
1999 David COULTHARD McLaren
1998 Michael SCHUMACHER Ferrari
1997 Jacques VILLENEUVE Williams
1996 Jacques VILLENEUVE Williams
1995 Johnny HERBERT Benetton
1994 Damon HILL Williams
1993 Alain PROST Williams
1992 Nigel MANSELL Williams
1991 Nigel MANSELL Williams
1990 Alain PROST Ferrari
1989 Alain PROST McLaren
1988 Ayrton SENNA McLaren
1987 Nigel MANSELL Williams
1985 Alain PROST McLaren
1983 Alain PROST Renault
1981 John WATSON McLaren
1979 Clay REGAZZONI Williams
1977 James HUNT McLaren
1975 Emerson FITTIPALDI McLaren
1973 Peter REVSON McLaren
1971 Jackie STEWART Tyrrell
1969 Jackie STEWART MATra
1967 Jim CLARK Lotus
1965 Jim CLARK Lotus
1963 Jim CLARK Lotus
1960 Jack BRABHAM Cooper
1958 Peter COLLINS Ferrari
1956 Juan Manuel FANGIO Ferrari
1954 Frolian CONZALEZ Ferrari
1953 Alberto ASCARI Ferrari
1952 Alberto ASCARI Ferrari
1951 Frolian CONZALEZ Ferrari
1950 Nino FARINA Ferrari

Back to Top

Copyright © 2011 - Carolyn Abberley
All Rights Reserved
Webmaster: webmaster@f1roro.co.uk