F1 Circuits - Sepang, Malaysia

AUSTRALIA - Melbourne
BAHRAIN - Sakhir
BRAZIL - Interlagos
CANADA - Montreal
CHINA - Shanghai
EUROPE - Nurburgring
FRANCE - Magny-Cours
GB - Silverstone
HUNGARY - Hungaroring
ITALY - Monza
JAPAN - Fuji
MONACO - Monte Carlo
SPAIN - Barcelona
TURKEY - Istanbul
USA - Indianapolis


Track Facts

Current circuit length : 5.543 km (2000-2007)

Lap record : 1m 34.223; 211.782 km/h (Juan Pablo Montoya 2004)

Fastest qualifying lap : 1m 32.582; 215.536 km/h (Fernando Alonso 2005 Q1)

Grand Prix held : 9

Web Site : www.malaysiangp.com.my
Location : Sepang International Circuit
Pusat Pentadbiran Litar Jalan Pekeliling,
64000 KLIA
Selangor Darul Ehsan, Malaysia
Tel: (+60) 3 85262000
Fax: (+60) 3 85261000

The Sepang circuit staged its first F1 race in 1999, and proved to be a popular track with the drivers. The debut race will always be remembered for a controversial Ferrari disqualification, when Irvine and Schumacher finished 1st and 2nd, only to have their points taken away over a disagreement about the size of the F399ís bargeboards. The points were eventually reinstated after an FIA hearing in Paris, just prior to the final race of the 1999 world championship. In 2001, the race moved from its 'traditional' late slot to a new March date.

Past Winners

Year Winner Team  
2007 Fernando ALONSO McLaren Click for full results
2006 Giancarlo FISICHELLA Renault Click for full results
2005 Fernando ALONSO Renault Click for full results
2004 Michael SCHUMACHER Ferrari Click for full results
2003 Kimi RAIKKONEN McLaren Click for full results
2002 Ralf SCHUMACHER Williams Click for full results
2001 Michael SCHUMACHER Ferrari Click for full results
2000 Michael SCHUMACHER Ferrari
1999 Eddie IRVINE Ferrari

Back to Top

Copyright © 2011 - Carolyn Abberley
All Rights Reserved
Webmaster: webmaster@f1roro.co.uk