F1 Circuits - Hungaroring, Hungary

AUSTRALIA - Melbourne
BAHRAIN - Sakhir
BRAZIL - Interlagos
CANADA - Montreal
CHINA - Shanghai
EUROPE - Nurburgring
FRANCE - Magny-Cours
GB - Silverstone
HUNGARY - Hungaroring
ITALY - Monza
JAPAN - Fuji
MONACO - Monte Carlo
SPAIN - Barcelona
TURKEY - Istanbul
USA - Indianapolis


Track Facts

Current circuit length : 4.381 km (2004-2007)

Lap record : 1m 19.071; 199.461 km/h (Michael Schumacher 2004)

Fastest qualifying lap : 1m 18.436; 201.076 km/h (Rubens Barrichello 2004 Pre-Qual)

Grand Prix held : 22

Web Site : www.hungaroring.hu
Location : Hungaroring
2146 Mogyorod Pf
Tel: (+36) 2844 4444
Fax: (+36) 2844 1860

First held in 1986 when Hungary was still behind the Iron Curtain, this particular fixture has been ever present since. Certainly not one of the popular races, with temperatures often unbearable and the bumpy, winding track can mean the race resembles the warm-up lap with cars unable to pass. Grid position here is as important as in Monaco as opportunities to over-take are scarce to say the least. Add to that the fact that the surrounding scrub can deposit a large amount of dirt on the track means that straying of the racing line can turn the track in to an ice-rink. Overall speeds will be slow with cars set up for maximum downforce and the heat of the Hungarian summer can mean a number of retirements.

Past Winners

Year Winner Team  
2007 Lewis HAMILTON McLaren Mercedes Click for full results
2006 Jenson BUTTON Honda Click for full results
2005 Kimi RAIKKONEN McLaren Click for full results
2004 Michael SCHUMACHER Ferrari Click for full results
2003 Fernando ALONSO Renault Click for full results
2002 Rubens BARRICHELLO Ferrari Click for full results
2001 Michael SCHUMACHER Ferrari Click for full results
2000 Mika HAKKINEN McLaren
1999 Mika HAKKINEN McLaren
1998 Michael SCHUMACHER Ferrari
1997 Jacques VILLENEUVE Williams
1996 Jacques VILLENEUVE Williams
1995 Damon HILL Williams
1994 Michael SCHUMACHER Benetton
1993 Damon HILL Williams
1992 Ayrton SENNA McLaren
1991 Ayrton SENNA McLaren
1990 Thierry BOUTSEN Williams
1989 Nigel MANSELL Ferrari
1988 Ayrton SENNA McLaren
1987 Nelson PIQUET Williams
1986 Nelson PIQUET Williams

Back to Top

Copyright © 2011 - Carolyn Abberley
All Rights Reserved
Webmaster: webmaster@f1roro.co.uk