F1 Circuits - Monte Carlo, Monaco

AUSTRALIA - Melbourne
BAHRAIN - Sakhir
BRAZIL - Interlagos
CANADA - Montreal
CHINA - Shanghai
EUROPE - Nurburgring
FRANCE - Magny-Cours
GB - Silverstone
HUNGARY - Hungaroring
ITALY - Monza
JAPAN - Fuji
MONACO - Monte Carlo
SPAIN - Barcelona
TURKEY - Istanbul
USA - Indianapolis


Track Facts

Current circuit length : 3.340 km (2003-2007)

Lap record : 1m 14.439; 161.528 km/h (Michael Schumacher 2004)

Fastest qualifying lap : 1m 13.532; 163.520 km/h (Kimi Raikkonen 2006 Per 2)

Grand Prix held : 54

Web Site : www.acm.mc
Location : Circuit de Monaco
23 Boulevard Albert 1er
BP 464
98012 Monaco Cedex
Tel: (+377) 931 52600
Fax: (+377) 932 52620

Without doubt the most famous F1 circuit and possibly the most famous motor racing circuit in the world, Monaco stirs both F1 images and memories. The circuit itself weaves through the streets of Monte Carlo, playground of the rich and famous. Despite its public allure the circuit is not a favourite for many of the teams and drivers, despite the fact many drivers currently have their homes there, with the cramped conditions extending not only to the pit-lane facilities but also the circuit. Cars will always be set up for maximum downforce to negotiate the tight turns and hence the cars never reach full engine power. The tight nature of the circuit means that an good grid position is vital to podium chances. However, the twists and turns put a great deal of strain on the cars, especially the gear boxes, and the track demands a high level of concentration from the driver. Just the slightest error or misjudgement can send the car in to the barriers.

Past Winners

Year Winner Team  
2007 Fernando ALONSO McLaren Click for full results
2006 Fernando ALONSO Renault Click for full results
2005 Kimi RAIKKONEN McLaren Click for full results
2004 Michael SCHUMACHER Ferrari Click for full results
2003 Kimi RAIKKONEN McLaren Click for full results
2002 David COULTHARD McLaren Click for full results
2001 Michael SCHUMACHER Ferrari Click for full results
2000 David COULTHARD McLaren
1999 Michael SCHUMACHER Ferrari
1998 Mika HAKKINEN McLaren
1997 Michael SCHUMACHER Ferrari
1996 Olivier PANIS Ligier
1995 Michael SCHUMACHER Benetton
1994 Michael SCHUMACHER Benetton
1993 Ayrton SENNA McLaren
1992 Ayrton SENNA McLaren
1991 Ayrton SENNA McLaren
1990 Ayrton SENNA McLaren
1989 Ayrton SENNA McLaren
1988 Alain PROST McLaren
1987 Ayrton SENNA Lotus
1986 Alain PROST McLaren
1985 Alain PROST McLaren
1984 Alain PROST McLaren
1983 Keke ROSBERG Williams
1982 Riccardo PATRESE Brabham
1981 Gilles VILLENEUVE Ferrari
1980 Carlos REUTEMANN Williams
1979 Jody SCHECKTER Ferrari
1978 Patrick DEPAILLER Tyrrell
1977 Jody SCHECKTER Wolf
1976 Niki LAUDA Ferrari
1975 Niki LAUDA Ferrari
1974 Ronnie PETERSON Lotus
1973 Jackie STEWART Tyrrell
1972 Jean-Pierre BELTOISE BRM
1971 Jackie STEWART Tyrrell
1970 Jochen RINDT Lotus
1969 Graham HILL Lotus
1968 Graham HILL Lotus
1967 Denny HULME Brabham
1966 Jackie STEWART BRM
1965 Graham HILL BRM
1964 Graham HILL BRM
1963 Graham HILL BRM
1962 Bruce MCLAREN Cooper
1961 Stirling MOSS Lotus
1960 Stirling MOSS Lotus
1959 Jack BRABHAM Cooper
1958 Maurice TRINTIGNANT Cooper
1957 Juan Manuel FANGIO Maserati
1956 Stirling MOSS Maserati
1955 Maurice TRINTIGNANT Ferrari
1950 Juan Manuel FANGIO Alfa Romeo

Back to Top

Copyright © 2011 - Carolyn Abberley
All Rights Reserved
Webmaster: webmaster@f1roro.co.uk